Home ARCs Top 5 Reasons: All the Ever Afters by Danielle Teller

Top 5 Reasons: All the Ever Afters by Danielle Teller

by Aleen @ Lampshade Reader

I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy of this book.

All the Ever Afters

Top 5 Reasons: All the Ever Afters by Danielle Teller
by Danielle Teller
Published by William Morrow Paperbacks
on May 22nd, 2018
Pages: 386
Format: e-book
Source: NetGalley
Purchase: Amazon
Rating: 5 Stars

Goodreads

Blurb:

In the vein of Wicked, The Woodcutter, and Boy, Snow, Bird, a luminous reimagining of a classic tale, told from the perspective of Agnes, Cinderella’s "evil" stepmother.

We all know the story of Cinderella. Or do we?

As rumors about the cruel upbringing of beautiful newlywed Princess Cinderella roil the kingdom, her stepmother, Agnes, who knows all too well about hardship, privately records the true story. . . .

A peasant born into serfdom, Agnes is separated from her family and forced into servitude as a laundress’s apprentice when she is only ten years old. Using her wits and ingenuity, she escapes her tyrannical matron and makes her way toward a hopeful future. When teenaged Agnes is seduced by an older man and becomes pregnant, she is transformed by love for her child. Once again left penniless, Agnes has no choice but to return to servitude at the manor she thought she had left behind. Her new position is nursemaid to Ella, an otherworldly infant. She struggles to love the child who in time becomes her stepdaughter and, eventually, the celebrated princess who embodies everyone’s unattainable fantasies. The story of their relationship reveals that nothing is what it seems, that beauty is not always desirable, and that love can take on many guises.

Lyrically told, emotionally evocative, and brilliantly perceptive, All the Ever Afters explores the hidden complexities that lie beneath classic tales of good and evil, all the while showing us that how we confront adversity reveals a more profound, and ultimately more important, truth than the ideal of "happily ever after."

ARC Fantasy Historical

 

 

Top 5 reasons why I loved All the Ever Afters, in no particular order.

 

1. Fairytale re-imagened

Just a little heads up: this isn’t your typical fairytale retelling. In fact there is NO MAGIC *gasp* and no talking animals. This reads as a historical fiction and given that the cover is a little misleading, I’m not letting that get in the way of my judgement. The reason that it’s not what I expected made this a stellar read for me.

2. The “Evil” Stepmother’s story.

I always wondered about the back story of Cinderella’s stepmother. We all know how she’s portrayed in the classic fairytale, but one wonders why and how badly the truth was twisted for it to be in favor of Cinderella.

I liked Agnes, I felt sorry for Agnes, and I actually agreed with Agnes. Agreed with the way she raised her daughters and Cinderella. Her hardships made her into a strong character that was both vulnerable and stern at the same time.

3. Cinderella

One fair bit of warning. If you are steadfast in your opinion of Cinderalla and might take umbrage of a slightly (less appealing) version of the character don’t read this book. However, if you are interested in a different take on her character, by all means pick it up.

Two words: Spoiled brat. Okay actually, here’s a few more: Slightly annoying and a bit loony.

If you aren’t afraid of these descriptors, I highly recommend this book.

4. The Stepsisters

I LOVED them. Not normally what I would find myself saying, but oh goodness, I felt so sorry for these girls. They had everything working against them from the minute they were born.

5. The writing style

I really enjoyed the ease and flow of the author’s writing. There were times that the story did drag a little bit, but the plot was interesting enough for me sit back and enjoy the storytelling.

About Danielle Teller

danielle teller author pic

Danielle Teller (formerly Morse, née Dyck) grew up in Canada, where she and her two brothers were raised by the best parents in the world. As a child, she was a bookworm who dreamed of being a writer, but she chickened out and went to medical school instead. In 1994, she moved temporarily to America, and she has been living temporarily in America ever since.

Danielle attended Queen’s University during her undergraduate years, and she received her medical training at McGill University, Brown University and Yale University. She has held faculty positions at the University of Pittsburgh and Harvard University, where she investigated the origins of chronic lung disease and taught in the medical intensive care unit.

In 2013, Danielle quit her job to pursue her childhood dream of being a writer. She lives with her husband, Astro Teller, and their four children in Palo Alto, California. She is currently working on a novel about the life of Cinderella’s stepmother.

 

Do you like fairy tale re-tellings?

Turn on the light!

Light up your inbox and never miss a post!

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )

I will never give away, trade or sell your email address. You can unsubscribe at any time.

Book Outlet ad
6 comments

6
Leave a Reply

What me to visit you? Just leave a link in the comments and I will stop by. :)

avatar
3 Comment threads
3 Thread replies
0 Followers
 
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
4 Comment authors
Aleen @ Lampshade ReaderAshKatieMary Kirkland Recent comment authors

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  Subscribe  
newest oldest most voted
Notify of
Ash
Guest

I cannot wait to read this one!

Katie
Guest
Katie

I really need some discussion questions for All the Ever Afters for my book club! Can you help me?

Mary Kirkland
Guest

I love a good cinderella retelling.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy
%d bloggers like this: